One day I hope to be as good a driver as Paul Smith

I’ve just had my first driving lesson in over ten years. It went surprisingly well, and he let me drive around for most of the hour. Given I only ever failed on parallel parking I suppose that’s what I should expect, but I was still astonished at being able to change gear correctly. Right up to the point where I stalled us at a junction.

This chap is much better than the one who taught me back in Blackburn, all those years ago. He took me through every single manoeuvre, and provided a commentary whenever I was doing anything right or wrong, taking apart my actions and showing them to me so I could see what was right and what was wrong. Maybe that’s standard nowadays; certainly the only thing that seemed to be standard ten years ago was body odour used by instructors like a device for subjugation of the trainee.

This entry was posted in cars, learning, transport. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

