Does my helmet look big in this?

Yesterday I seemed to work through my entire mid-life crisis in a few hours. Firstly I bought a ski jacket for my upcoming Chamonix junket (well, to replace the one whose zip went a few days ago, so not exactly an impulse buy). Then I test-drove a moped—a moped, me whose father and maternal grandfather both had serious motorcycle accidents when young. I take some comfort in the fact that I’ve got ten years on the ages at which they both acted stupidly, a choice of machines with speeds restricted to 35mph, and a refreshingly healthy attitude to road safety that I’m certain my father at least doesn’t share. Still, though. Can you see me on a Piaggio, hugging the curves, ciao bella, er-r-r-r-r?

The next few hours were spent trying on wedding wear with my future father-in-law in Moss Bros, fending off suggestions of a pink waistcoat by picking a particularly awful example of the breed. But compared to K’s search for a dress our own particular sartorial odyssey was brief indeed, and by 3pm I went back to Oxford Motorcycles and signed for the moped. Then I spent almost the same amount of money on utterly unnecessary safety gear and an excessive breakdown/repair warranty. By the end of it all I had reverted to the conservative, wary steady-onner that had opened his eyes that morning.

If only that ski jacket had been leather. The narrative would’ve worked out perfectly then.

This entry was posted in mopeds, transport. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

