Request For Comments

I’m almost ready to move SB&LB over to WordPress in order to make it more easily extensible, maintainable etc. Much as I’ve had tremendous fun with Blosxom, it’s too hacky and crufty for the poor server to cope with: operations involving lots of posts are especially slow because it’s based on files rather than a database.

Also, God help me, I’ll be permitting comments.

My instinct is still largely against them, I have to say. How do I stop dickheads commenting? How do I get rid of the hairsplitter, the lunatic, the ignorant and the chav? What’s the etiquette for deleting comments you don’t like, without turning the whole thing into Harry’s Place or wherever it was? How, basically, do I limit comments to other decent chaps…? But maybe, when the barbarians are at the gates, you should just go ahead and let them in, because they only look like barbarians from a distance.

Also, if this pans out, I could actually end up with a fanbase like that Kos chap.

This entry was posted in meta, readers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Request For Comments

  1. argle says:

    Hey, it looks almost like a real blog!

  2. monkeyhands says:

    How do I get rid of the hairsplitter, the lunatic, the ignorant and the chav?

    This is typical of the nany state, wanting to get rid of everybody who does’nt agree with you. I guess The Clockwork Orange has become reality at last, congratulations. Welcome to Blair’s Britain.

  3. Socks says:

    How do I get rid of the hairsplitter, the lunatic, the ignorant and the chav?

    Is it something I said?

  4. jps says:

    This is the quality debate I’ve been missing out on all this time, of course

Leave a Reply

