One Sonnet Per Child

With perfect timing, rgl gave me a Trophy of Perpetual Futility immediately before cartoon heroine Girl gave cartoon curmudgeon Cat a Surprise Party. I’m sure he’ll be glad to know that every time I sit and contemplate my new mantlepiece decoration I will think of him: him and the inevitability of death and decay.

I’m even later than he is with my present to him, but that’s OK because he’s not a materialistic chap like me. But I feel under greater pressure as he accompanied the aforementioned gong with a copy of Raymond Queneau’s Exercises in Style. Although I’m preaching to the Oulipian converted it’s worth pointing everyone at the brave online (and hence interactive) effort to translate Queneau’s One Hundred Thousand Billion Sonnets into English and hypertext by Beverley Rowe.

This entry was posted in age, art, death, literature, media, nu-media, oulipo, person, poetry, websites. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Sonnet Per Child

  1. awrc says:

    This might interest you, too – a little slight, but good effort. Can lend it to you.

  2. sbalb says:

    Lovely. I’m still trying to work out at least some idea for a sequel to APoL, and it would be nice to steal it off someone good.

Leave a Reply

