As discarded and discardable as a NaNoWriMo during Advent

Well, the evening passed rather splendidly last Wednesday, although I was so jittery and sweaty that I didn’t really notice at the time. Others have assured me since that it was a lot of fun.

Since then, outside of Stones and Bones I’ve been having terrible writer’s block, which is why you haven’t heard from me. When there’s a project that thoroughly deserves my time, then even if I decide not to spend any on it then I still feel too shifty and mean-spirited to do anything in its stead. I wanted to say something about the NME / Morrissey arguments, but it looks like the man himself has beaten me to it. It takes a certain strength of character to describe your legal opponent as “devious, truculent and unreliable,” and link the words to a judge’s verbatim opinion of yourself in a previous court case. And a certain vice-like grasp of otherwise slippery irony to write such an article as a whole.

I also had a hankering to develop some of the ideas in the 24ways geek advent calendar further, but then found that what I was actually doing was ultimately just streamlining the chap in question’s own work. It was better at the end of it, but not so much that it warranted all the extra bolt-ons I’d had to include behind the scenes. One of the advantages of the computer revolution is that I was a button away—well, two buttons away—from simply scrapping it, and nobody was ever the wiser. 24ways is inspiring me to work more conscientiously and imaginatively, but only when I actually do work.

In fact, all I seem to have succeeded in doing is writing this, this odious meta-writing, this gently swaying blimp of a post; I release it, let it wander bloated across the blogosphere, like an American tourist through a damp, dark museum hall…. Ha. It’s not so hard after all, is it? If anyone ever complains to you of their terrible writer’s block, kindly suggest to them that they step off that very block, and stop using it as a soapbox.

This entry was posted in art, artists, diary, experience, journalism, media, meta, morrissey, music, occupation, publishing, vanity, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to As discarded and discardable as a NaNoWriMo during Advent

  1. looby says:

    “24ways is inspiring me to work more conscientiously and imaginatively, but only when I actually do work.”

    Ho ho ho! (seeing as it’s nearly Christmas)

Leave a Reply

