In years to come, you're all allowed to say you met me

Tomorrow, at 12.30pm, I finally receive the fame and respect that I’ve known all along I deserve. That’s right: a five-minute slot on local radio. Nobody could claim I don’t deserve that. It’s to advertise the conference I’m organizing in the evening, which is both

I’ve often been told I have the perfect face for radio. It’s true: I keep it in a bag. Won’t that be a surprise treat for tomorrow’s interview? It’ll be like when Preston walked off during Never Mind The Buzzcocks, only more horrifying.

Sources tell me that my satellite linkup from the other side of Wytham Hill is currently in preparation, and I’m waiting patiently for my rider of pizza and Penguin mints to arrive any minute now. Actually, I might get bumped down the schedules, so don’t hold your breath. I mean, do tune in, but don’t be surprised if it’s not me you’re listening to, and instead you get someone from the Elder Stubbs allotments talking about his legumes, or Keith Mitchell being his usual appalling self.

(BBC Oxford has a live feed which needs RealPlayer, naturally. Wednesday’s episode will also be “available” in the same way if you’re a fan. Of me.)

This entry was posted in business, cliques, entertainment, interviews, made_our_own_fun, media, occupation, opinion, radio, society, vanity. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In years to come, you're all allowed to say you met me

  1. Brennig says:

    Sadly your link to geeknight doesn’t work, I think it’s http://oxford.geeknights.net. It’s too late for me to consider attending but I’ve signed up to the newsletter.

  2. sbalb says:

    Whoops: fixed. We should really register some misspelling domains, once we’ve, you know, actually built a proper site.

  3. PPH says:

    “which is both” what?

    (“Two things you must know of the geek conference. First, it is a conference! Second…”)

  4. sbalb says:

    Just “both”.

    Actually I think I continued this over on my vanity blog and with cross eyes and a developing migraine forgot to tidy up my edits here. I was really rather distracted Tuesday evening.

  5. Janet says:

    I liked you before you were famous! 🙂

    Sorry I couldn’t make OGNX, but I have a cast-iron excuse (“I was up a mountain”). Glad to hear it was so successful that there wouldn’t’ve been room for me anyway!

Leave a Reply

