Write like there’s nobody counting

NaNoWriMo is not universally loved, even among those taking part. Certainly I’ve found that the big problem with it is one of guilt: that when I want to write something, that isn’t NaNoWriMo, I feel like I ought to be doing that instead. If I have a set number of urges to write this month, they ought to all be sunk into my big project.

This is a foolish idea, of course, but psychologically understandable. I don’t know whether breaking the spell by writing here is a good idea or not – whether indeed it might hole my NaNoWriMo below the WaTerLiNe – but I’m going to give it a try anyway. In the best of worlds, I will end up writing twice as much. Lucky you, hm?

This entry was posted in diary, entertainment, experience, inspiration, made_our_own_fun, occupation, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write like there’s nobody counting

  1. Neeks says:

    Surely this won’t be enough to derail your NaNo project? I think we all need to step back from our WIP periodically in order to rest a bit and be able to go back refreshed.

    • smallbeds says:

      You don’t know just how far my project has already been derailed. Let’s put it this way: based on my own word limit, which is around a fifth of NaNo’s imposed word limit, I am only 25% finished. November is 50% finished. If I get distracted by any writing here, I’m probably done for.

      In fact, why am I even replying to you? What am I thinking? I need to get back…!

Leave a Reply

