Not as much as when I put it back in

These last few weeks have been spent under a cloud, or rather several clouds, each of which have rather prevented me from writing in turn (although I did get another 5% of my secret project done.) After returning from the north and then Cardiff, I felt the usual spasms start to ferment in my lower spine, and within a week I was… let’s say “walking funny.”

No sooner did my back muscles start to relent, than I dislocated my shoulder. A week ago today was particularly frosty, and so I was picking my way home on my bike, until an emergency vehicle began to loom far behind me. Like a good fellow road user I pulled over into a handy layby to let them past and changed right down to my lower gear.

As I set off again, my chain slipped, causing me to fall forward and stop myself with my palms on my handlebars, landing hard. Something then happened in my left shoulder – a rapid procession of dislocation/relocation – and how I managed to get off my bike with only one useful arm and a cleat still engaged, I have yet to really work out. For a few days afterwards I was slinged up, and my rotator cuff still hurts occasionally, warmly.

Back and shoulder on the mend, yesterday I came down with a terrible cold. I felt it building all day: I was having difficulty answering straightforward questions, and my throat was occasionally sore. The crux came after an evening meeting with local sustainability people (nice in themselves, but scarcely what I was up for) and I decided – probably already feverish – to put a few posters up on the outside of the building where an event is going to happen this weekend.

The weather last night was wild, to put it simply, and so I arrived home wet, cold, and shivering far beyond the reaches of any central heating, thermals or blankets. Today I have been mostly insensible for, having had a feverish night of no sleep, and suffering from a temperature and stuffy head. Only in the past few hours has the fog lifted, yet I still feel exhausted.

One of my goals for autumn was “Keep fit.” I appreciate, in retrospect, that such a goal was neither clever nor – in the project-management sense – SMART. My efforts are now directed towards K. letting it be notched up as a failure: after all, had I done more back exercises; had I actually agreed with my boss to do resistance-band exercises with him when my shoulder first went in bed a month or so ago; and had I, well… vitamin C? Echinacea? Something, anyway: I can’t help feel that, while colds are hardly avoidable, they rarely hit me quite so hard.

Let’s be honest, I’ve hardly spent the past few weeks – let alone months – as an advertisement for healthy living, unless the narrative of said campaign is “survival against all odds.” And they’re never going to get that one past the focus groups.

This entry was posted in body, health, illnesses, infirmity, person. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not as much as when I put it back in

  1. looby says:

    No justice is there – letting an emergency vehicle through and getting a dislocated and relocated shoulder as a result.

    Re keeping fit, I’m sure you’re already in the top 10% of fitness (and yes, I realise this is the UK from which we are speaking). It’s not a “failure”. There’s no limit to the list of things that one can find one has failed to meet.

  2. smallbeds says:

    That’s true, but we did write down fifteen ways to stop us getting miserable in autumn, and we’ve ticked off 12 of them so one with a cross isn’t so bad. Besides, if ticking off is going to mean anything in terms of success, it’s because each one has had the possibility of ending up with a cross by them. That’s science, right? Or maybe it’s Beckettian, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

