Nobody owns a cat

We’re trying to get a cat. It’s harder than you think, especially if (a) you accept that buying kittens from breeders is simply worsening an existing problem of animal welfare, and (b) you baulk at tempting them away from neighbours’ houses. We’re currently in conversations with the Blue Cross, so please don’t tell them about that whole tempting away thing I just mentioned.

Our first attempt gradually fell to pieces, as the donor (someone who had apparently developed an allergy to cats, but whom I think was actually on their beam ends) simply stopped returning the charity’s calls. It’s an occasional occurrence with their “Home Direct” scheme: the donor keeps the animal until such time as a new family is found, to avoid double the relocation stress; yet sometimes, they end up unable to part with it but are too embarrassed to say so.

By that time we’d already got a little bit attached to the cat we’d never met; it was quite difficult to accept it would never be ours, so after receiving a suggestion of another animal we were relieved to hear it wasn’t via Home Direct. Instead, this particular little creature is currently residing in the cattery for the local branch of the charity. We go to see her on Friday.

I hope we meet with her approval.

This entry was posted in buildings, charity, cliques, intuition, location, love, near, pets, society, understanding. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nobody owns a cat

  1. looby says:

    Great, hope this one works out. I’ve lived with cats all my life until me and Kirtsty split up and I still miss the foof-demanding purring followed by indifference when I come home. One of the people interested in the room wants us to get a cat from our local rescue place.

    • smallbeds says:

      Yes, I love the social interactions cats exhibit with humans. The sort of alien, other-worldly impossible combination of needy clubbableness and aloof disdain. I love dogs too, but it’s a completely different class of relationships you have with them. We’re both really looking forwards to it.

      If it doesn’t work out, then my parents have suggested just keeping all the cat stuff for whenever someone comes to visit. “Oh, you’ve got a cat?” “… [confused] No….”

  2. looby says:

    An unfortunate typo in my post suggested that my pussy was purring in the search of something which, because of my Y chromosome, I am unable to provide.

Leave a Reply

