Gut me no guts

Awaiting a second blood test for coeliac disease – the first was, as I’d suggested to the doctor, too soon after stopping avoiding wheat – I am eating bread like a man possessed by the unquiet spirit of a thwarted baker.

Today is a far worse day than others, though, and I twist and turn with heartburn and a sense of over-fullness. It could be worse – this apparent reaction to a heap of cashews I ate at lunchtime suggests I have the less dangerous, “mere” IBS – but it could also be considerably better

If you are yet young, treasure your digestive system, the long spool of piping, valves and distended bags that you never notice except after a night’s heavy drinking or a stomach bug. Be glad of the freewheeling approach you can take to any restaurant’s menu.

I always felt that, as I grew older, I would also grow more dyspeptic; I just never expected that I would do so literally.

This entry was posted in age, body, discomfort, food, health, intoxication, past, person, service, time. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gut me no guts

  1. looby says:

    IBS is “mere”? Well done, you have a high bar of inconvenience.

    • smallbeds says:

      Well, I wouldn’t quite say that, although I was pretty much wheat-free for a year and after a while it does get easier to plan (but still admittedly quite difficult, especially with the increased calorie intake of my cycled commute.)

      The possibly too-phlegmatic way I see it is that I have a choce between: the unpleasant and occasionally, strongly laxative inconvenience – from IBS; and the fatigue, long-term damage and increased risk of bowel cancers – from coeliac disease.

      If it’s IBS, then I can actually eat wheat when I’m away from home if there are only sandwich shops around: I just have to only eat a small amount, or avoid mixing it with other risk factors like coffee and alcohol. If it’s coeliac disease, on the other hand, then I have to avoid crisps coated with wheat powder, and the risks are sufficiently large that I qualify for gluten-free bread on prescription.

  2. Pingback: I don’t have coeliac disease; but what do I have? | Small Beds and Large Bears

Leave a Reply

