Fitting in

This Saturday was K’s birthday, and we celebrated it with a barbecue in what turned out to be intermittently pouring rain. It’s a cliché to say “it didn’t dampen our spirits”, but it really didn’t. A lid on the barbecue helped mostly, although it ended up being very easy to forget precisely what was cooking: I’ve never seen a corn cob go ash-grey before.

I still can’t believe how many people we managed to squeeze into our rather small house. We had expected people to arrive in a rather staggered fashion; in the end, a host of around a dozen turned up within an hour, and then only started to thin out a good four or five hours later, whereupon they were replaced by a handful of successful staggerers. Although never let it be said I encourage staggering among my friends etc. etc.

We always feel slightly self-conscious about our house: its location and its size, both. So it was rather jolly to actually have guests, even if it ended up being standing-room early. It almost makes me want to have a party here for my own birthday. Almost.

This entry was posted in age, anniversaries, buildings, cliques, diary, entertainment, experience, friends, here, location, made_our_own_fun, parties, person, society, time, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitting in

  1. looby says:

    Don’t be apologetic of your house. I’m sure everyone who you’re likely to know remembers the qualities of the hosts and the time they spent there more as much as the house’s physical oddities, but values the former and only smiles about the latter.

  2. smallbeds says:

    “Apologetic” is the wrong word. “Realistic” is probably better. Although I dare say that K. – 0.81 of my height, and therefore perhaps 0.53 or so of my volume – finds it considerably bigger than I do. Certainly I’m the one with the bad back.

Leave a Reply

