Don’t tell me it’s rude to point right now

I was going to write more today, but I managed to burn my left forefinger on the oven’s heating element earlier today. The element gets so hot that the dead, unexfoliated layers of skin turn to ash, luckily offering partial protection to the lower layers as they do so; I’m nonetheless hampered by a sticking plaster over a blister under a kind of toasted callous.

This all prevents easy typing on normal keyboards and tablet screens from working at all. Given I originally learned to touch-type with my right forearm in a cast, I tend to over-use my left hand when I type anyway. So I’m basically doubly unable to type with any kind of skill.

I’ll be honest: it’s a living hell. Why am I even struggling on, in order to communicate to you that very struggle? Well, it’s easier to be brave if everyone knows you’re doing so. Also, the Germolene is starting to wear off.

This entry was posted in diary, experience, health, here, injuries, location, occupation, person, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t tell me it’s rude to point right now

  1. David Oliver says:

    I have been blog surfing today. You are not the first burned blogger. Actually I burned my finger putting out a cigarette just a few minutes ago. How lame is that? I’m beginning to wonder why so many bloggers are getting burned. Could it be the ReasonDude (you know, the guy who makes everything happen for a reason) has got it in for us bloggers? Could this be burn blogger month? And oh geez, I’m wondering what’s on the agenda for July?

    • smallbeds says:

      I thought I’d replied to this. Cigarette burns are like wasp stings in that they remain sharp and angry for a good hour or so. I suppose at least my electrical-element burn wasn’t that painful immediately afterwards; it just came back to haunt me as I got more and more tired of an evening.

      Element burns are odder, though, in that I’ve been burned by a car cigarette lighter in the past, and the top layer of my skin just turned to ash; if you’re quick with an ice cube or cold water, as I was back then, you can basically wash that off and the heat with it. I just wasn’t quick enough this time.

      • David Oliver says:

        I use toothpaste but it is kinda messy. Will try ice next time as that appears to be the majority favorite. At any rate, no more burns here and June is gone. So far July has been burn free for me. Hope the same for you.

Leave a Reply

