To work one day at a time

The past few weeks have been rather packed for me, which will I hope explain such a long period of blog-related silence. Worry not unduly, for all continues well in the mighty, vaulted halls of Smallbeds of that ilk; laird, lady and livestock are all hale and hearty, more or less: but the tone and pace of life in this gently rolling vale are even now changing at unprecedented speed.

I have quit my job of nine years, to go freelance. There: after all that pseudo-Waverley nonsense, I rather hoped that might get your attention. But, yes, I’m leaving my old and much appreciated employer, to set out on what seems either like a fool’s errand or a glorious adventure, depending on your point of view and – I fear – whether or not you are indulging in it through rose-tinted spectacles.

In the virtual or at any rate online sense, my plan is to spend considerable time collaborating with some of the individuals and agencies that I have – all too frequently from afar – admired and gazed at hungrily during the past few of my indentured years. But whatever happens, I hope at least I will be able to spend the winter months in those same vaulted halls; or at any rate, our once-pokey, now-snug home office.

Seeing as the first few clouds of late, growling autumn are gathering over Castle Smallbeds while I type this, the move seems more timely than ever. Here’s to a season of excitement and novelty, rooted all the while deeply enough in this place, that no me wintry blast of trepidation or uncertainty can do aught to shake it loose.

This entry was posted in employment, experience, family, freelance, here, location, occupation, person, seasons, surprise, time. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To work one day at a time

  1. 1looby says:

    You had my attention before you mentioned Waverley which I haven’t read in any case. This all sounds very optimistic, and I am vicariously jealous of your snug home office, even without seeing it. Bon chance!

    • smallbeds says:

      Thanks, Looby. I’m so risk-averse about it all that it’s untrue: every few days I have to regulate my breathing at the very thought….

      • 1looby says:

        You’ll be alright. And beta-blockers can be had off the dark internet for half a bitcoin for fifty if it doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

